Trye problems

Submitted: Monday, Apr 21, 2003 at 04:49
ThreadID: 119863 Views:4349 Replies:15 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
G'Day all, We are using BF Goodrich All Terrrain 31x10.5 R 15 LT tyres and are getting a lot of punctures. Typicaly a small stone will lodge between the treads and pierce the trye. So far we have had about 12 punctures in 25000 km. Two tyres have had to be replaced due to the tread being fractured so badly that the tyre bulged at the puncture point. I have tried 30 - 50 psi tyre pressures. Most punctures have been on the rear wheels of the Patrol. We use a Hayman Reece weight distribution kit to even out the load on the tyres. Any comments? John and Sandra
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Deleted User - Monday, Apr 21, 2003 at 04:53

Monday, Apr 21, 2003 at 04:53
John & Sandra, I have been using BFg All Terrains solely for the last 10 years or so. The set I have at the moment has done some 70,000kms (30,000kms offroad and outback) and still without a puncture. My car weighs around 3.1 ton (GU Patrol). In my experience, the trick is to drop your tyre pressures to suit the surface you drive on. On highway, I use around 40psi and drop it to 26-28psi on corrugations. Even further when I go offroad. You don't have to worry too much about sidewall temperatures on these lower pressures if you keep your speed down a bit. Hope this helps Ari
AnswerID: 558520

Reply By: Deleted User - Monday, Apr 21, 2003 at 04:54

Monday, Apr 21, 2003 at 04:54
Almost all of our driving is on dirt roads. We use normal road pattern tyres on both our 4WDs (OKA and 2.8 litre diesel HiLux) and very rarely have tyre problems.