Towing with a Range Rover?

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 01:51
ThreadID: 123361 Views:6975 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all at forum,
I am brand new to caravaning so am doing the initial research and am impressed by the Bushtracker and the friendship of the boggers. The Lone Ranger is a wealth of technical info. No such thing as too much information!!
I currently own a Landcruiser 100 (petrol) and find it a touch thirsty, and have looked at the Range Rover Sports T/D V8 (the new and bigger engine) as a replacement. I like the comfort and style of the Rangie but notice not many Landies are used as tow vehicles.No Range Rovers at all!!
Question - Will a RRS be able to tow a B/T comfortably considering they come as standard with Active Roll Mitigation and are rated at 3500kg towing?
Any comments??

Mark Brown (Brownie - a very interested prospective B/T purchaser!)
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Kenso - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 03:02

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 03:02
Hello Mark,
I tow mine with a Discovery 3 TDV6 2.7 tows it far better than the 100 series I had before. I would gather that the V8 diesel would blitz the D3! The only thing you have to be aware of is; with the air suspension and self leveling technology you cannot use a weight distributing hitch as the computer and the WDH fight against each other and the loser has been the towbar (It snaps off!!) I have done about 10k without the WDH and had no ill affects.

Cheers
Paul
AnswerID: 570714

Reply By: Brownie 59 - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 04:13

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 04:13
Hi Paul,
Thanks for the prompt response. I'll look into the WDH further, and thanks for the advice.
Can't wait for the caravan show when it hits Sydney!
AnswerID: 570715

Reply By: Deleted User - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 22:16

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 22:16
Hi Mark