Eaz Lift WDH system

Submitted: Monday, Sep 19, 2011 at 19:28
ThreadID: 127622 Views:5092 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Last trip away I whacked the HR drop hitch bad as we exited a servo. Not the first time. So I’ve done a bit of research and it seems the Eaz lift WDH system will allow the DO35 hitch to be mounted on top of the A frame thus allowing a smaller drop shank, giving a lot more ground clearance. Apparently the way the bars connect keep them from hitting the A frame when turning. But before I commit I would like advice from anyone who uses the Eaz lift system, pros and cons. My tow vehicle is a 79 series cab/chassis cruiser. Thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Jacmar - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 02:19

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 02:19
I have been using the eaz lift system for 4 years now and as you say hitch is mounted on top of A frame and bars sit just under A frame , great wdh with no problems so far and we travel full time , tow vehicle is 78 series troopie.
Regards Mark.
AnswerID: 583126

Follow Up By: Pam and Les - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 06:57

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 06:57
Thanks for that Mark. Good to hear. Do you have the 8in shank extra high/low?
FollowupID: 853884

Reply By: Taj - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 18:21

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2011 at 18:21
We whacked our HR drop hitch on a rock going through a creek (very slow and gentle - barely noticed a bump). A few months later we ended up with snapped bolts on the towbar (HR, correctly installed). An engineer friend reckoned that the only force that could have resulted in the bolts snapping was one coming from the same direction as the whack on the hitch, so that must have weakened/stressed the bolts and over time/travel the result was a snap.

Fortunately we noticed it before we lost the whole towbar, because the breakaway brake is also attached to the towbar so wouldn't have kicked in. (It's now attached to a special bracket on the chassis, not the towbar.)